Home » About NSWYO

  Conductor     Management     Auditions


Inspiring and empowering NSW’s leading young musicians



The New South Wales Youth Orchestra is the first state youth orchestra of its kind in NSW. Our mission is to deliver exceptional orchestral training and performance experiences for young musicians through collaboration with leading orchestral musicians, conductors and educators.

NSWYO brings together many of the very best young musicians from Sydney and around NSW, to perform acclaimed concerts of the highest standard.

NSWYO 2018 Programs conducted by Fabian Russell


Program 1: SUN 6 MAY 2018  at SHORE PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE  ,William St, North Sydney

RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No.2 – Pianist Paul Chung

SHOSTAKOVITCH Symphony No.10 in E Minor


Program 2 : SUN 19 AUG 2018 at SHORE PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE ,William St, North Sydney


BRAHMS Double Concerto in A Minor – Anna Da Silva Chen – Violin, Eliza Sdraulig –Cello


Program 3 : SAT 1 DEC 2018 at MONTE SANT ANGELO, North Sydney

DVORAK Carnival Overture

SHOSTAKOVICH Piano Concerto No.1 – Pianist Michael Kieran Harvey

MUSSORGSKY Pictures at an Exhibition


NSWYO Past Repertoire

11th May 2014


BEETHOVEN: Fidelio Overture

TCHAIKOVSKY: Violin Concerto in D Major (Ji Won Kim, Violin)

DVORAK: Symphony No.7


31st August 2014

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No.5

BRAHMS: Double Concerto for Violin & Cello (Sun Yi, Violin; James sang-oh Yoo, Cello)


7th December 2014

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No.6, ‘Pastoral’

RAVEL: Alborada del gracioso

RIMSKY-KORSAKOV: Capriccio espagnol

SAINT-SAENS: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso (Josephine Chung, Violin)


16th May 2015

GUSTAV MAHLER: Symphony No.5


6th September 2015

BRAHMS: Academic Festival Overture

SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Concerto No.2 (Cowley Fu, Piano)

BRAHMS: Symphony No.2


28th November 2015

TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 1 (David Fung, Piano)

SAINT-SAENS: Symphony No. 3, ‘Organ’


7th May 2016

SIBELIUS: Violin Concerto  (Anna Da Silva Chen, Violin)

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No.6, ‘Pathétique’


28th August 2016

GRIEG: Piano Concerto (Simon Tedeschi, Piano)

SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 11, ‘The Year 1905’


3rd December 2016

ELGAR: Cello Concerto (HyungSuk Bae, Cello)

SIBELIUS: Symphony No.2

Skip to toolbar